Tags

, , , , ,

I used to think April was my busiest month in gardening. Then I experienced May. Then June. And now, July. Let’s face it, this “hobby” of mine has really taken precedence over a lot of things in my life, like, umm, clean floors and bed sheets. My goal in all of this is to demonstrate by action the benefits of urban vegetable gardening, and fortunately one of those goals is not a magazine-cover-worthy kept house. One of my goals is, however, manageability of the work involved. July, and my little 10 ft x 5 ft patch of summer-bearing raspberries, threatened to bring down my noble charge. This month, I harvested 25 pints of raspberries, or 50 cups, or 12.5 quarts, or just over 3 gallons, which adds up to somewhere in the realm of 10 billion berries. Growing perennial cane berries is a great investment, especially if you want to be so overwhelmed in one short period of time, that within two weeks you can’t even look at anything berry-flavored without screaming obscenities and punching through drywall, and then you swear off that fruit for the next 11 months. Which is great, because that’s when the next crop is ready.

Fortunately, fresh-picked raspberries at the peak of ripeness are beyond amazing, and purchasing off-season raspberries after you taste these beauties will leave you disappointed and let down, so you will never do it again (in my experience). Even my rabbit won’t eat store bought raspberries anymore, but to be fair she is highly spoiled and very snooty for a prey animal. If this is something that interests you, and I do suggest it, I’ve added a new feature on this blog, Produce Primer, which will include features of various fruits and vegetables that I have grown, and the first one up is the luscious red raspberry.

If you are concerned about how to manage all those raspberries, take it from me, there are ways. Check out the photos below for some sweet red rasp-iration.

Raspberry Chip Ice Cream

Raspberry Chip Ice Cream

Raspberry White Wine Popsicle

Raspberry White Wine Popsicle

Raspberry Jam

Raspberry Jam

Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

Raspberry Swirl Cupcakes

Raspberry Swirl Cupcakes

Fresh Raspberries and Yogurt Dip

Fresh Raspberries and Yogurt Dip

Raspberry Macarons

Raspberry French Macarons

Raspberries and Cream

Raspberries and Cream

aspbery Creme Brûlée

Raspbery Creme Brûlée

Raspberry Pecan Coffee Cake

Raspberry Pecan Coffee Cake

Enjoy!

